Getting money out of Kalshi comes down to three separate things people often confuse: withdrawing settled cash to your bank, cashing out a position before the event resolves, and understanding how any winnings are taxed. They work differently, and this guide keeps them straight — with the fee facts verified against Kalshi's official schedule and the parts we can't verify clearly flagged.
When a market you hold settles in your favor, each winning contract is credited to your Kalshi balance at $1.00 automatically — there's no settlement fee and nothing to claim. That balance is then yours to withdraw to a linked bank account.
On the fee side, two facts are verified against Kalshi's official fee schedule:
For exact processing times, minimum and maximum withdrawal amounts, and wire-transfer specifics, we deliberately don't publish fixed numbers here — those can change and aren't in the public fee schedule. Check Kalshi's own help center for the current figures before you plan around a timeline. As a general expectation, ACH withdrawals typically take a few business days to land, like most bank transfers.
"Cash out" and "withdraw" aren't the same thing, and mixing them up is the single most common Kalshi confusion.
Withdrawing moves settled cash from Kalshi to your bank. Cashing out means selling a position you still hold, before the event resolves, to lock in its current value.
Because Kalshi contracts trade continuously between 1¢ and 99¢ until settlement, you don't have to wait for the outcome. If you bought Yes at 40¢ and it's now trading at 65¢, you can sell into the market and take the 25¢-per-contract gain immediately — or sell at a loss to stop further downside. This is ordinary order-book trading: your sell is a taker or maker order like any other, priced by current bids. If the mechanics are new to you, start with how Kalshi works.
Two practical notes. First, you can only cash out at the price the market currently offers — thin markets may not have a buyer at the price you want, which is where order-book depth matters (something you can check before you trade). Second, selling early is a taker/maker action, so the usual fee treatment applies; see Kalshi fees explained for how that's calculated, or price it in the fee calculator.
In the US, profits from Kalshi trading are generally taxable, and as a CFTC-regulated exchange Kalshi issues tax documentation. The form most relevant to event-contract traders is the 1099 series, which reports certain income to you and to the IRS. The practical implications people ask about:
We don't publish specific rates or filing steps because tax rules change and vary by person. For the authoritative word, use Kalshi's own tax documentation and a qualified advisor.
The recurring issues people hit, and what they usually mean:
The mechanics differ because the rails differ. Kalshi runs on US bank rails — ACH withdrawals to a linked account, no Kalshi fee. Polymarket runs on crypto (pUSD, a USDC-backed dollar token on Polygon), so "withdrawing" means moving funds out as crypto, with no Polymarket deposit/withdrawal fee but the usual crypto on/off-ramp considerations. Which is smoother depends on whether you'd rather deal with a bank transfer or a crypto wallet.
We compare the two platforms' current costs and mechanics side by side on the compare page.
No — ACH withdrawals carry no Kalshi fee, as of 2026-09-12 (checked against Kalshi's official fee schedule). Debit-card transactions can carry up to 2%, and crypto may involve third-party processor fees. There is no settlement fee on winning contracts.
ACH bank transfers typically take a few business days, like most bank withdrawals. Exact timing and any limits are set by Kalshi and can change — check Kalshi's official help center for current figures before planning around a date.
Cashing out means selling a position before the event settles, to lock in its current value — it's order-book trading. Withdrawing moves settled cash from your Kalshi balance to your bank. You cash out inside the market; you withdraw out of the platform.
Generally yes, in the US. Kalshi is a CFTC-regulated exchange and issues tax documentation (1099-series). Winnings are not tax-free, and the income is reported to the IRS whether or not you withdraw. This is general information, not tax advice — consult a tax professional.
Money in open positions isn't withdrawable until those positions close or settle. Cash out or wait for settlement, then withdraw the freed-up balance.
ACH free / debit up to 2% / crypto third-party fees / no settlement fee: Kalshi Fee Schedule (PDF, effective 2026-07-07), summarised on our fees page. Cash-out mechanics: contracts trade continuously at 1–99¢ until settlement (same source as our how-it-works guide). Processing times and limits: deliberately not stated — third-party figures could not be verified against an official source. Taxes: 1099 mechanism only, no rates. Checked 2026-09-16.
PolyKal is an independent research tool, not affiliated with Kalshi or Polymarket. Fee facts verified against Kalshi's official fee schedule; withdrawal timing/limits and tax specifics are not published here because they change and aren't in the public fee schedule — check Kalshi's official help center and a tax professional. Last reviewed September 16, 2026. Not tax or financial advice.
Getting money out of Kalshi comes down to three separate things people often confuse: withdrawing settled cash to your bank, cashing out a position before the event resolves, and understanding how any winnings are taxed. They work differently, and this guide keeps them straight — with the fee facts verified against Kalshi's official schedule and the parts we can't verify clearly flagged.
When a market you hold settles in your favor, each winning contract is credited to your Kalshi balance at $1.00 automatically — there's no settlement fee and nothing to claim. That balance is then yours to withdraw to a linked bank account.
On the fee side, two facts are verified against Kalshi's official fee schedule:
For exact processing times, minimum and maximum withdrawal amounts, and wire-transfer specifics, we deliberately don't publish fixed numbers here — those can change and aren't in the public fee schedule. Check Kalshi's own help center for the current figures before you plan around a timeline. As a general expectation, ACH withdrawals typically take a few business days to land, like most bank transfers.
"Cash out" and "withdraw" aren't the same thing, and mixing them up is the single most common Kalshi confusion.
Withdrawing moves settled cash from Kalshi to your bank. Cashing out means selling a position you still hold, before the event resolves, to lock in its current value.
Because Kalshi contracts trade continuously between 1¢ and 99¢ until settlement, you don't have to wait for the outcome. If you bought Yes at 40¢ and it's now trading at 65¢, you can sell into the market and take the 25¢-per-contract gain immediately — or sell at a loss to stop further downside. This is ordinary order-book trading: your sell is a taker or maker order like any other, priced by current bids. If the mechanics are new to you, start with how Kalshi works.
Two practical notes. First, you can only cash out at the price the market currently offers — thin markets may not have a buyer at the price you want, which is where order-book depth matters (something you can check before you trade). Second, selling early is a taker/maker action, so the usual fee treatment applies; see Kalshi fees explained for how that's calculated, or price it in the fee calculator.
In the US, profits from Kalshi trading are generally taxable, and as a CFTC-regulated exchange Kalshi issues tax documentation. The form most relevant to event-contract traders is the 1099 series, which reports certain income to you and to the IRS. The practical implications people ask about:
We don't publish specific rates or filing steps because tax rules change and vary by person. For the authoritative word, use Kalshi's own tax documentation and a qualified advisor.
The recurring issues people hit, and what they usually mean:
The mechanics differ because the rails differ. Kalshi runs on US bank rails — ACH withdrawals to a linked account, no Kalshi fee. Polymarket runs on crypto (pUSD, a USDC-backed dollar token on Polygon), so "withdrawing" means moving funds out as crypto, with no Polymarket deposit/withdrawal fee but the usual crypto on/off-ramp considerations. Which is smoother depends on whether you'd rather deal with a bank transfer or a crypto wallet.
We compare the two platforms' current costs and mechanics side by side on the compare page.
No — ACH withdrawals carry no Kalshi fee, as of 2026-09-12 (checked against Kalshi's official fee schedule). Debit-card transactions can carry up to 2%, and crypto may involve third-party processor fees. There is no settlement fee on winning contracts.
ACH bank transfers typically take a few business days, like most bank withdrawals. Exact timing and any limits are set by Kalshi and can change — check Kalshi's official help center for current figures before planning around a date.
Cashing out means selling a position before the event settles, to lock in its current value — it's order-book trading. Withdrawing moves settled cash from your Kalshi balance to your bank. You cash out inside the market; you withdraw out of the platform.
Generally yes, in the US. Kalshi is a CFTC-regulated exchange and issues tax documentation (1099-series). Winnings are not tax-free, and the income is reported to the IRS whether or not you withdraw. This is general information, not tax advice — consult a tax professional.
Money in open positions isn't withdrawable until those positions close or settle. Cash out or wait for settlement, then withdraw the freed-up balance.
ACH free / debit up to 2% / crypto third-party fees / no settlement fee: Kalshi Fee Schedule (PDF, effective 2026-07-07), summarised on our fees page. Cash-out mechanics: contracts trade continuously at 1–99¢ until settlement (same source as our how-it-works guide). Processing times and limits: deliberately not stated — third-party figures could not be verified against an official source. Taxes: 1099 mechanism only, no rates. Checked 2026-09-16.
PolyKal is an independent research tool, not affiliated with Kalshi or Polymarket. Fee facts verified against Kalshi's official fee schedule; withdrawal timing/limits and tax specifics are not published here because they change and aren't in the public fee schedule — check Kalshi's official help center and a tax professional. Last reviewed September 16, 2026. Not tax or financial advice.